Skip to content Accessibility What's New Complain or Comment Website Feedback Form
Lcc weebsite fox logo for printing

Local Government in Leicestershire

Leicestershire County Council
District / Borough Councils
Leicester City Council
Parish / Town Councils
Local MEPs
Leicestershire MPs
Leicestershire has a 3-tier system of local government, consisting of the County Council, 7 Borough/District Councils, and Parish Councils. This arrangement applies across the whole county except for the bigger towns where the Parish level does not exist, and the Borough/District takes on the work of the Parish Council. The City of Leicester is a separate authority (see below).

District / Borough Councils

There are seven Districts / Boroughs in Leicestershire:
County Districts
1.  Blaby District Council
2.  Charnwood Borough Council
3.  Harborough District Council
4.  Hinckley & Bosworth Borough Council
5.  Melton Borough Council
6.  North West Leicestershire District Council
7.  Oadby & Wigston Borough Council
Elections for Borough/District Councillors take place every 4 years.
The main responsibilities of Districts and Boroughs are:
  • Refuse Collection
  • Local Planning
  • Environmental Health
  • Recreation
  • Leisure & Amenities
  • Housing

Parish / Town Councils

Responsibilities of Parish and Town Councils include:
  • Allotments
  • Cemeteries
  • Footpaths
  • Recreation
  • and any other functions delegated by the County Council or District/Borough Councils.
Elections for Parish Councillors take place every 4 years.
Parish / Town Contact Details
Parish / Town Council Websites

City of Leicester

Leicester City Council is a separate authority. It is a "unitary" authority and is responsible for all local government in the city.

Page Last Updated: 7 January 2011